The Authors

Presenting the IFOA 2013 Author Lineup…

Janie Chang

Chang, Janie

Chang, Three Souls

Janie Chang (Canada) spent her childhood living in the Philippines, Iran and Thailand, and now lives in Vancouver. She has a degree in computer science from Simon Fraser University and recently attended SFU’s Writer’s Studio. Chang presents her unforgettable debut novel, Three Souls, which was inspired by the tragic story of her grandmother, whose life, like so many generations of women in China, was not her own. Readers meet the ghost of young Leiyin, who must sift through her memories to uncover what is binding her to this world and denying her entrance to the afterlife.

Lauren B. Davis

Davis, Lauren (c) Helen Tansey Davis, The Empty Room

Lauren B. Davis (Canada) is a critically acclaimed novelist, essayist and teacher whose bestselling books include The Stubborn SeasonThe Radiant City and Our Daily Bread, which was longlisted for the 2012 Scotiabank Giller Prize and named best book of the year by both The Globe and Mail and The Boston Globe. Davis will present The Empty Room, a story about a woman whose worst enemy – and only friend – is the bottle. The result is an unforgettable portrayal of the turmoil and pain of alcoholism.

Margaret Drabble

Drabble, Margaret (c) Ruth Corney Drabble, The Pure Gold Baby

Margaret Drabble (UK) became a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2008 for her contributions to contemporary English literature. She is the author of The Sea LadyThe Seven SistersThe Peppered Moth and The Needle’s Eye, among other novels. She wrote biographies of Arnold Bennett and Angus Wilson, and edited two editions of The Oxford Companion to English Literature. Drabble presents The Pure Gold Baby. Jessica Speight is on the cusp of a promising academic career in 1960s London until a relationship with her married professor leaves her the single mother of a darling – but very unusual – daughter.

Nicole Lundrigan 

Lundrigan, Nicole Lundrigan, The Widow Tree

Nicole Lundrigan (Canada) is the critically acclaimed author of four previous novels, including Glass Boys, which received glowing reviews and was a NOW magazine top 10 and an top 100 book of the year. Unraveling Arva was selected as a Globe and Mail top ten, and Thaw was longlisted for the Relit Award. Lundrigan presents her latest novel, The Widow Tree, which finds three teenagers facing life-altering consequences after they conceal a valuable discovery in a small village in post-war Yugoslavia.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s